East Asian Scrabble Championship 2024

Japan Scrabble Players Association (JASPA) and Hong Kong Scrabble Players Association (HKSPA) are pleased to announce the fifth East Asian Scrabble Championship (EASC).

It is the WESPA-rated team challenge event between Japan and Hong Kong. Both sides will form teams of four to compete on 28 April 2024.

Date and time: 28 April 2024 10:00 - 19:00 (Hong Kong Time)

Venue: The Foreign Correspondents' Club, Central, Hong Kong (Tentative, to be confirmed)

Format: 8 games in total. Each players will play the players from the opponent team twice. The latest version of the WESPA Rules and Collins Scrabble Words apply to this tournament.

Challenge penalty: 5 points per word in an unsuccessful challenge.

Entry fee: There is no entry fee for the tournament.

Ratings: This tournament is HKSPA-rated and WESPA-rated.


Hong Kong players

To qualify for Team Hong Kong for the EASC 2024, one must be an HKSPA member and have Hong Kong representation status under the Hong Kong Player Statuses Regulation. Also, they have to participate in a Qualifier.

The Qualifier will be held on 24 February 2024, from 10:00 to 18:00. Only players who fulfil the eligibility to qualify for Team Hong Kong and are interested in representing Hong Kong in the EASC are eligible for the Qualifier. The Qualifier will use the latest CSW dictionary edition and WESPA Rules.

There are only 8 spots in the Qualifier. If more than 8 players are interested in playing in the Qualifier, only the top 8 players with the highest peak HKSPA ratings (provisional or not) from 1 February 2023 to 31 January 2024 can play in the Qualifier. If there are less than 8 players interested in the Qualifier, all players can play in the Qualifier. The top 4 players qualify to represent Hong Kong in the EASC. Players may expect the Qualifier to be in a Round Robin format, while the actual format is to be confirmed. The Qualifier is HKSPA-rated.

The qualified players are:

  • Thomson LAW Long Yin
  • Euclid HUI
  • Kingsly KANG

Japan players

The Japan representatives are:

  • Kunihiko KURODA
  • Warodom GEAMSAKUL


All queries could be directed to the HKSPA at info@hkscrabble.org or JASPA at jaspa@gyosei.holy.jp.